Before this, when users want to create a same metafield for some specific items in a same resource, they have to go through all that items one by one to do the job. It seems fine when you have just a few things to edit but how about the number increase to 100, 200, or even more? That would take so much time and effort to handle everything.


Now, the bulk actions tool will get that for ya! The Bulk Actions tab allows you to create/ update or remove metafields for multiple items with just some simple clicks. Let me show you how!


Before starting: Along with Export, Import, and Image resource's file upload, this feature requires Energy points to work as well. 01 entity will cost you 01 point, you can find more details HERE.


Step 1

  • Open ACF and choose the Automation task at the top of the interface


Step 2

  • Based on your need, switch the tab to Create, Update metafields or Delete metafields


Step 3

  • Select your resource type. Not all but we have 06 types here: Collections, Products, Product variants, Customers, Order, and Draft order


Step 4

  • If you would like to apply this action for all items in the chosen resource, click Continue
  • If you want this action to be applied for some specific items, click Add new filter to filter on your data. Corresponding to chosen resource type, options from drop-down boxes will be different as well. Click Continue after setting all requirements.

Note: Multiple conditions allowed


Step 5

Fill the Namespace, Key, Value Type, and Main Value (if any




If you are

  • Creating fields: A new metafield with inputted information above will be added for each matching item
  • Updating fields: The system will override the main value of metafields that have the same Namespace and Key settings
  • Removing fields: All metafields that have the same Namespace and Key will be deleted 


All the actions above only happen with items that match your conditions in step 4


Step 6

  • Click Create/ Delete metafields and confirm your action once again. Progress' status can be found in history tab.



Important note:

- Bulk editor's actions cannot be reverted.

- We recommend creating a backup file using the Export feature before starting with the bulk editing. It won't take much time and may be helpful in some cases.